jQuery Slider

You are here

Church of Nigeria Appoints Four Bishops to Minister in the US, Bypassing ACNA

Church of Nigeria Appoints Four Bishops to Minister in the US, Bypassing ACNA

By David W. Virtue, DD
January 18, 2019

The Anglican Church of Nigeria, the largest province in the Anglican Communion, today announced that they have elected and appointed four new suffragan bishops in the U.S. and Canada bypassing the Anglican Church in North America, (ACNA) potentially creating ecclesial chaos.

The ACNA issued the following statement; "As was reported last week, the Bishops of the Church of Nigeria have elected four bishops for the Anglican Diocese of the Trinity to minister in North America. These elections did not follow the Protocol between the Anglican Church in North America and the Church of Nigeria (Anglican Communion) and was not made in consultation with the College of Bishops of the Anglican Church in North America. The bishops-elect still have to go through the Church of Nigeria's credentialing process. It is not intended that they will be a part of the Anglican Church in North America's College of Bishops."

Conversations between Archbishop Beach and Archbishop Okoh are ongoing as they seek a way forward that honors Christ and his Church, and builds up the GAFCON movement, said the statement.

CANA East Missionary Bishop Julian Dobbs and CANA West Missionary Felix Bishop Orji commented on the situation; "This does not directly affect the mission and ministry of the other CANA dioceses. While we are disappointed by the way this election process has unfolded, this is not a situation that affects our local parishes and their commitment to making disciples and followers of Jesus."
A Statement on the election of Church of Nigeria Bishops for the Anglican Diocese of the Trinity (ADOTT), a diocese in the Anglican Church in North America and a sub-jurisdiction of the Convocation of Anglicans in North America (CANA) said it was the first missionary diocese of CANA launched by the Church of Nigeria in the United States and Canada, working as an evangelical, church-planting movement.

The four new Suffragan Bishops are:

1. The Ven. Dr. Adedokun Adewunmi -- Region 3;
2. The Ven. Martyn Anagbogu -- Region 2;
3. The Ven. Olukayode Adebogun -- Region 1;
4. The Revd Canon Dr. Augustin Unuigbe -- Region 4

The four are elected and appointed Bishop Suffragans for four newly created regions while The Rt Rev. Amos Fagbamiye will maintain servant leadership in the geographical area of emphasis with the Cathedral in Indianapolis, said the Nigerian Primate's statement.


Get a bi-weekly summary of Anglican news from around the world.
comments powered by Disqus
Prayer Book Alliance
Trinity School for Ministry

Land of a Thousand Hills Coffee

Drink Coffee

Do Good

Sustainable Ministry

Coffee, Community, Social Justice


Go To Top