jQuery Slider

You are here

Diocese of South Carolina Will Appeal to the US Supreme Court

Diocese of South Carolina Will Appeal to the US Supreme Court


Today (Nov. 21, 2017) the Standing Committee of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the Diocese of South Carolina, after prayerful deliberation, voted unanimously to petition for a writ of certiorari from the United States Supreme Court.

The request is for review of the recent final ruling by the state supreme court. We believe, as former Chief Justice Toal said in her dissent, "The lead opinion in this case is nothing less than judicial sanction of the confiscation of church property masquerading as an attempt to promulgate a new deference rule for determining title in this matter."

We further believe the nature and consequences of this ruling strongly merit review. Several congregations have already voted affirmatively to join in this petition. We encourage the other parish parties to the case to consult with their legal counsel to address their vestry's desire to join.

The Standing Committee of the Diocese of South Carolina includes the following persons:

The Rev. David Thurlow, President;

The Rev. Karl Burns, Vice-President;

The Very Rev. Peet Dickinson;

The Very Rev. Craige Borrett;

The Rev. David Dubay;

The Rev. Marcus Kaiser;

Mrs. Anne Walton;

Mrs. Susan McDuffie;

Mr. Foster Smith;

Mr. Alonso Galvan; and

Mr. Gerry Graves.

Get a bi-weekly summary of Anglican news from around the world.
comments powered by Disqus
Trinity School for Ministry
Go To Top